Arcade Controller

As a you may remember from my previous post I made a game on Arcade Makecode called Inequality run. In the game you can change to be different inequality symbols, you are only allowed to go in a path trailing your symbol. Following those rules you have to get to the end of the map to win. To start putting this into a real arcade machine, I first made a test of the controller. It was a piece of cardboard that I put the buttons into and the wiring. After getting the idea of what I was doing I went and started to download my game on a Raspberry pi. I put a SD card in a adapter into my Chromebook. After I pulled the files of my game and put it in the SD card soon after to put in my Pi. After testing out the game seeing it worked, I started to make my final controller. I first tried cutting holes to into different snack boxes as that failed. The cardboard couldn’t hold anything up and broke to easily. I then switched to a shoe box with was great, it was easy to cut precisely and make holes. I had a big problem transferring my buttons and wires because they got scrambled. After sorting them out I put the in the buttons in the designated holes. It was a bit messy and I almost broke the box and ruined it. After completing the box I was able to successfully.

This is what my box looks like after completion.

This is the wiring of the box after completion.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *